Arboretum Girl

They say the best thing to do to become a better writer is to write whichever first comes to mind.  Allow your stream of consciousness to flow from your synapses, fingertips, and finally onto the keyboard.  Do not edit, or delete anything prior to what is written down.  In this case, this is my attempt to write on the fly.  Here is a summary of my first day in this exciting yet unfamiliar new year.

On New Years Eve, I did not go out, get drunk, celebrate with friends, or do anything that many people normally do on the celebration of the last day of 2011.  Instead, I spent my night in solitude, meditation, and revered in silence with a nice cup of tea and a book.  I covered around 100 pages of Kundera’s Unbearable Lightness of Being within a solid 3 hours of reading.  It was perfect night well spent and I very much enjoy it.  I suppose this year is going to be different from the last.  I’ve grown out of the whole party scene.  I figured it is not who I am.  Instead I crawl back into the introverted self that I respect mostly about myself.  Introverted in a sense that I am not a social outcast.  No, no.  Rather introverted in a such a way that I am spending my days in the arts, literature, and exploring new music.  2012 is a year when I revitalize the renaissance within me.  In any case, I didn’t stay up past midnight to do a little countdown to myself.  I figured January 1st is just like any ordinary day as the prior.  Perhaps the cold weather invokes one desire to harbor this energy of solitude and creativity.

Woke up around 8am and did a little more reading.  Walked out and saw Kevin sleeping on the couch.  We decided to have breakfast together at Black Bear Diner, catching up on our lives over grits and eggs.  We exchanged our News Year Resolution.

“I want to lose 20 lbs” I said.
“I’m trying to gain 20 lbs” He said
“No girl for me this year” I said.
“I’m trying to get on this girl” He said.

It was a constant exchange of opposite ideas.  The binary between the two splits across the breakfast table.  It was a good breakfast nonetheless.

I returned back home, head over to my room to continue my reading.  I can’t help but wonder how can a man like Tomas have multiple affairs with other women and claim that he still loves Tereza?  It just doesn’t really make much sense to me.  How can you give your whole heart to one girl but have multiple affairs?  I closed my book and decided to follow up with some light activity.  Its been awhile since I took a walk to the arboretum.  I grabbed my Pentax K1000 and decided to take some random shots on my film camera.

I drove over to Arboretum.  It was a beautiful afternoon, I say 50 degrees F.  Quite warm for Davis lately.  I took shots of the creek, children feeding ducks, old couples walking, orange autumn leaves on trees, and the list goes on.  It was beautiful, simplicity at its best.  Beauty in  small things.  I come to appreciate the small things in life that many of us normally takes for granted.  I’ve become a Grandpa in a sense.  I like using the phrase “in a sense.”  I’m getting off topic.

After a couple of shots, I notice a girl sitting on the bench reading to herself.  A road bike rest against the bench.  Her legs extends, resting on the bench.  Her body is composed.  Her eyes focused on each word.  I couldn’t help but admire the way she reads.  I wanted to talk to her, ask her what book she is reading and hopefully stir up a conversation with her.  A human to human interaction is all I want.  No expectations.  Just an interaction with another individual.  Companionship.  One lone wolf to another.

I walked around continuing to take pictures, mustering up the courage to walk up and talk to her–formulating topics to discuss in my head.  I got it.

“Hi! I’m doing a small portfolio project and been taking random pictures of people and things here at the arboretum.  I was wondering if I can take a picture of you if you don’t mind?” I said.
“Sure…though I’m not really photogenic though.” She said.
“Its okay, I’ll make it look good.” I smiled.
<<snap>>


“Got it.  Hopefully it turns out well.  Its on a film camera so I’ll find out later.” I said
“By the way, you look familiar.  I think I might have class with you.  Were you in my English 10C class with Addona?” I asked
“Yes, I think I may seen you in that class.” She said.
“Oh yeah, I think I sat behind you one day. I might’ve asked you if I can borrow a piece of paper. I’m Vincent”
“Hi, I’m S.”

We shook hands.  Spent the entire hour talking about ourselves in the quiet refreshing afternoon.  I learned that she was an english major, worked with autism kids in Sacramento, loves simplicity, minimalistic, Korean American, and enjoy spending alone time reading at the arboretum.  I was inspired.  I knew that I wasn’t the only person who enjoys spending quiet time by themselves.  In my surprise, I’ve grown attracted to her.

I didn’t want to extend my conversation any longer.  I didn’t want to take too much of her time.  We parted, exchange numbers, and return back to the solitudes of our lives.  A day well spent I’ll say.

Leave a Reply

